The past week had been really tiring and hectic and at times stressful even! Especially as we were preparing for the Church of Our Lady of the Assumption (COLA) 40th Anniversary last Sunday…

I admit, when I first found out that Bishop planned about a full weeks’ parish recollection to get spiritually prepared for the Feast Day, I wasn’t too happy. Not cos I had anything against the spiritual aspect of it cos I didnt, but cos it meant all the nights that week was fully booked! And we still had lots to physically prepare for the 40th Anniversary! Mainly, sorting out the items donated for the fundraising sales for WYD2011…

So a few of us skipped Bible Study on Monday (which we only realised the following Monday what we had missed!) but even then, we still had half left to sort…and Tuesday night onwards was kinda non-negotiable so we could not skip them…

Tuesday night was the kick-off of the Triduum ie. 3 consecutive nights Wednesday onwards of parish recollection, with a Holy Hour (which was after the final meeting for the 40th Anniv). On Wed nite, we had the 1st night of the recollection…afterwhich we were supposed to continue sorting out the things…but Bishop wanted us to set up the conference room for the VYA recollection before we left, but before we could get around to doing that, we were invited to have a “quick” dinner with him and our guest speaker, Bishop Tagle…

We ended up just fellowshipping with the 2 Bishops till late! Haha. No complains, as while at first I kept thinking of the things that needed doing, I later decided that right there, enjoying their company and listening to their life stories was more important…never shall I forget the Brandy stories! Lol. And after we eventually did set up the conference room, a friend came to spend the night with me so between us, we managed to sort half of the half unsorted! Amen!

The following day was a public hol, which was why we had the VYA recollection with Bishop Tagle – that was awesome! – afterwhich we had Taize practice for the Taize night on Sat. After practice, we had some time left, so a few came over to my house to collect the sorted items. In 2 cars, managed to bring half of the things to church…and that night, after the 2nd nite of recollection, managed to sell 1 item already – which we didnt expect to sell even! I felt it was God’s way of affirming me that He is Saviour and not myself. We propose God despose…and that was what I learnt from the recollection that night…

On the 3rd night of the recollection, I learned another lesson: that anything we do that is “for God” but is sone without “love” is nothing…is empty…and that really struck me so when I went home that night and by myself sortef out the items left unsorted, I did not complain (as would have been my normal reaction) but did so joyfully and with love…

By the time Saturday came, all the things were in church (except for a final batch of things which I planned to just bring on Sunday itself) and inspite of the big day coming up in less than 24hrs, I was calm…and Taize night was a blessing…

In retrospect, the spiritual preparation towards the big day IS as important as the physically preparations, if not more important! Indeed, I am like Mary sometimes who worries about lots of things when like Martha, we should be at the feet of Jesus, listening to Him…

True enough, once I realised that, everything fell into place…and All Glory to God, we managed to raise a lot more than we could ever had hoped for! All those late night and early mornings, stress and heartaches was well worth what we reaped! Praise be to God!

