In our office, we have this culture of playing the “season’s tunes”...ie. when it’s a festive season, we would play songs of that festivity so since about 2 weeks into December, we’ve been playing Christmas songs =D

However, when I got back to work on the 27th, I overheard a colleague saying: “You can stop playing Christmas songs now” or rather, “You can start playing (another festivity coming up in January) songs now”.

I was like HELLO! It’s only the 2nd day of Christmas! We still have 10 days left!

A Catholic would (should) know that the official Christmas season starts on Christmas Day and ends twelve days later on the Feast of the Epiphany…thus the song “12 Days of Christmas”…but did you know that that song wasn’t just to remind us that the season is 12 days long? No. Rather, I just found out that “The 12 Days of Christmas is a catechism song that was originally meant to teach the faith to children!” – I’ve Jeff Cavins to thank for sharing this very interesting fact! =D

However, I did stumble across the meaning of the 12 “things” given on the 12 days of Christmas some Christmasses ago, which I’d forgotten until I read it again…but let’s see if you ever thought of them. =)

In summary (for further explanations please visit  Jeff Cavins on his website) they are:

Partridge in a Pear tree: Jesus Christ.

Two Turtle Doves: Jesus’ natures & the Testaments.

Three French Hens: the Trinity/Faith, Hope and Charity.

Four Calling Birds: the Gospels

Five Golden Rings: are the first five books of the Bible

Six Geese a Laying: Six days of creation

Seven Swans a Swimming: the Seven Sacraments/gifts of the Holy Spirit.

Eight Maids a Milking: the Beatitudes

Nine Drummers Drumming: fruits of the Holy Spirit

Ten Ladies Dancing: the Ten Commandments

Eleven Pipers Piping: the eleven Apostles (excl. Judas)

The Twelve Lords a Leaping: the twelve basic beliefs of the Catholic Church

WOW! Kudos to the guy who came up with the song!

For most of my life, I never put a second thought into it, but now I know better – and so do you! =D

So, BLESSED CHRISTMAS EVERYONE & HAPPY NEW YEAR 2012!

