As I mentioned in my previous post, apart from giving up some things this Lent, I was also taking up the “40acts challenge” to do Lent generously…

Well, we’re on Act#10 right now, and let me tell you – it IS quite a challenge!

I don’t know about you, let’s see how I managed with the first 5 acts…

(In red was what the challenge said to do and in blue was what crossed my mind when I read it…followed by what I actually did do)

act #1: create a giving jar

Consider setting aside a jam jar, and filling it with the money you would otherwise have spent on the things you’re giving up for Lent. At the end of Lent, give the jar to a cause of your choice.

Simple enough. I’ll just get one of those Lenten boxes the Church always gives during Lent & return it to the church before Easter. Except this time, I’m actually gonna have to put some money inside…urm, ok, I’ve accepted the challenge so consider it done! 🙂

What I actually did do:

I’m giving up meat & social networks for Lent, but the latter doesn’t use money, per se, and the former is replaced by a non-meat alternative so there isn’t any savings there really…so I decided I’ll just put whatever money saved from declining to stuff I would normally have done instead…and so I declined a movie invite – but that was replaced with grabbing some drinks so in the end, still no savings. 😦

Thus, so far, I’ve only been able to put in RM5 – from the drinks I almost had with a friend in Miri (and this one also was because it was the only RM I had left and I didn’t think RM5 was enough for drinks and thus I declined…)

-.-“

Oh wells. I shall be more determined this coming week! 🙂

Verdict: DONE, but could do better!

act #2: cross a social divide

When was the last time you reached out to someone of a different ethnicity, religion, social class or age-group to you? Break down barriers and cross a social divide today. Reach out in friendship to somebody from a different background.

Ok..this is a challenge. Hurm…who?

What I actually did do:

So I didn’t very grandly do this act I must admit…but I did smile more to people and made small talk with some (which is normally not the norm) – so, done? 😉

Verdict: DONE, but could do be more specific!

act #3: share your skills

Spend an afternoon teaching your nephew to knit, or hanging pictures on the walls for your neighbour. Relish the chance to be truly helpful (and, as a particularly fun side-effect, to feel like a know-it-all for a few hours)

Somehow, I think I’ve been doing this for a while now? Albeit not consciously…and not for this Lent…but does that count?

What I actually did do:

I have (to some extent) been serving in Youth Ministry in Church/Groups for a couple of years now but in the context of it being a challenge for Lent, then I take this as an act to be done this Lent, so then that means I haven’t done this yet. 😦 Lent just started last week and to be honest, I’ve been sick for the most of it (and still am…) so what are my skills apart from singing (which I currently can’t share as I am voiceless due to this bad cough I’m having)? So, no, not done yet. Hopefully, before the end of Lent, I am back to tip-top condition & am able to…

Verdict: NOT done

act #4: grab a cuppa

Consider taking your tea break with a difference today. Seize the moment and this weekend, “invite some people who never get invited out (for a coffee or to your house for dinner), the misfits from the wrong side of (your) tracks.” Luke 14:13 If they don’t mind, sit with them and have tea together. Instead of ‘tea and sympathy’, try ‘tea and company’. 

Ok…who?

What I actually did do:

Nothing yet to be honest. I didn’t know who qualified as “being on the wrong side of my tracks”…hhhmmm…let me mull over this some more. 😉

Verdict: NOT done

act #5: buy fairtrade

Meaning you can buy the things you love knowing that you’re helping to alleviate poverty, protect the environment and empower communities. Now that tastes good. Why not ensure that you buy one more Fairtrade item in your next shopping basket?

Fairtrade? What’s that??

What I actually did do:

I googled up the word and discovered that it basically meant goods that are sold at a slightly higher price because they help the commuties that make them (instead of getting the rewards due to them from all their hard labour going to middlemen with the “take it or leave it” deals)…I am not sure but in this region, I don’t think we have fairtrade…so I modified this act to mean “buy local goods” instead. 🙂

That said, I haven’t done that either cos I haven’t gone shopping yet…

Verdict: NOT done

So there you have it, 2 out of 5 done and not done to the best of my abilities so I am still gonna try and get them up to par before Lent ends. Please pray for me…

Acts 6 to 10 will be published tomorrow so stay tuned! 😉

But in the meantime, if you’re doing 40acts as well, please do share!

40 days, 40 reflections, 40 simple acts…

HAVE A BLESSED LENT!

