2corinthians-6-18_lg

While I was writing another post elsewhere, I had an epiphany. It’s not that I never knew it before but it was more of I just realised what exactly that meant.

What was it?

That I am a Daughter of God.

“I will be a Father to you and you will be my sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty.” (2 Corinthians 6:18 & 2 Samuel 7:14)

Again, it’s not that I never knew it before but it was more of I just realised what exactly that meant.

I used to struggle with relating to God as a Father because no human father is perfect. But that’s just it: God is NOT human. He is God! He is the Perfect Father there ever was, is and will be!

Think about it. What are the attributes of the Perfect Father?

For me, as a daughter, the perfect father would love me, protect me, be someone I can trust, be there to pick me up, wipe my tears, hold my hand and lift me up when I fall, be the one I can turn to anytime and is always there for me. And God is all that and so much more! How lucky are we to have God as our Father!?

Now remember all those times you’ve prayed for something – and never got them? As all good parents and good fathers would know, not everything your child asks from you is good for them (although of course the child is confident and determined that it is!) Isn’t it the same with our Perfect Father : That he only wants the best for us and will not give us what we think are good for us simply because it is not the best for us???

I mean WOW! If you look at it that way, life just makes a whole lot more sense doesn’t it?

For all the things I have prayed for, there is one in particular that God still has not answered. I realise now that I had been praying wrongly, asking selfishly thinking that is best for me. I understand now. Necessarily, this will change the way I pray: instead of asking for this and that, I should be asking for God’s best for me.

Thank you Heavenly Father, for bestowing the privilege to us, to me, mere human, to call you Father, my Perfect Father. I trust you and will await your best for me. 🙂

