Now if Courageous showed what it was to be a Man of God, then War Room shows what it means to be a Woman of God, or more specifically, a wife and a mother in the family.

It portrays the story of a successful young woman (Elizabeth) whose encounter with an older woman (Clara) leads her to discover the right way to “fight” for her (then) strained marriage and in the process rights her relationship with God, her daughter and husband – and ultimately not only saves her marriage but also leads her husband and daughter to be closer to God as well.

I could totally relate some parts of the story to my own life.

Ever since I was young, and I realise it more as I grew up, Mom has always been THE Prayer Warrior in our family. Everyday, she would pray for our immediate family (dad’s job, our studies, our career, our health and everything that we are involved in) as well as extended family members and friends or anybody who has requested for her prayers. If there is anyone who knew how to pray, it is her.

As much as I’d like to say that I too have a prayer life as wonderful and intimate as Mom I haven’t quite reached that level yet. While I don’t have any qualms about spending as much time as I can doing church “work” (mainly involving youth and young adult ministry), I guess I would be more of a Martha than a Mary:

Luke 10:38-42

38 Now as they went on their way, he entered a certain village, where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home. 39 She had a sister named Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to what he was saying. 40 But Martha was distracted by her many tasks; so she came to him and asked, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to do all the work by myself? Tell her then to help me.” 41 But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and distracted by many things; 42 there is need of only one thing.[a] Mary has chosen the better part, which will not be taken away from her.” 

I never did understand why “Mary has chosen the better part” – if Martha was not doing the tasks (preparing for their meal it is assumed) then they would not be having their meal later, so surely her role was important.
So why is being Mary and spending time with the Lord (in prayer and building a personal relationship with him) more better/more important? Because if you have the Lord God on your side, nothing is impossible! Didn’t Jesus come to Mary’s defense when Martha wanted her to help with the tasks?
When I watched War Room and as I write this post, the realisation hit me. In the movie, Elizabeth and husband were both successful in their careers (being Marthas) but they weren’t (being Mary) “sitting at the Lord’s feet”/”listening to what He was saying” and their family nearly fell apart because of it. But when Elizabeth started praying for her family, that’s when everything slowly and surely changed for the better, even though it involved some difficulties along the way (“growing pains”?)

That is why Prayer is an important weapon – not because of the prayer per se, but because you are bringing God into the picture and handing over your cares and worries to Him and asking Him to fight for you.

What an assurance it would be to know that GOD is on your side (when you let him be!) and NOTHING can be against you! (Romans 8:31)

